Celebrating the Leadership Jefferson County Class of 2023

2023 LJC Graduates crop

Fourteen participants recognized at end-of-year celebration

MADISON, IN – The 2023 course of the Leadership Jefferson County program concluded on May 30, 2023. A luncheon was held to recognize the 14 participants, with help from the event’s sponsor, Grote Industries. Leadership Jefferson County is an action project that evolved from Envision Jefferson County. The program is housed at the Community Foundation of Madison & Jefferson County.

“We are excited to have a very diverse group of participants,” said Marta Belt, Leadership Jefferson County Steering Committee Chair. “We had many different occupations, backgrounds, and talents represented in our class.” The Leadership Jefferson County course consisted of 10 bi-weekly session. These sessions gave the participants a better understanding of resources and relationships within Jefferson County. Session topics included: Government Agencies & Organizations, Agriculture & Natural Resources, Education, Healthcare, Social Services, Business, Industry & Economic Development, Tourism, History, and Nonprofits & Volunteerism. Throughout the course, community members and topiic experts were invited to speak to share their insights.

Members of the Class of 2023 included: Darren Aldridge, Norton King’s Daughters’ Health; Troy Alvey, Ivy Tech Community College-Madison; Janelle Cleaveland, Salvation Army-Madison; Maranda Elswick, River Valley Resources; Matt Johann, Madison Precision Products; Aditi Marudwar, Grote Industries; Ericka McIntyre, Ericka McIntyre Editing & Writing; Cheryl Nelson, Retired; Lauren Purcell, Norton King’s Daughters’ Health; Becky Pyles, SuperATV; Rachel Sharpe, Hanover College; Stephen Sims, Prince of Peace Catholic Schools; D.J. Walch, Hanover College; and David Woolpy, Boys & Girls Club of Jefferson County.

The application period for the 2024 session of Leadership Jefferson County will be announced in the fall. For more information about Leadership Jefferson County, contact Kelley Hoagland at (812) 265-3327, email [email protected], or visit the program’s webpage at www.cfmjc.org/LJC.


Front Row: (from left) Troy Alvey, Janelle Cleaveland, Rachel Sharpe, Cheryl Nelson, Darren Aldridge, and David Woolpy.
Back Row: (from left) Matt Johann, D.J. Walch, Ericka McIntyre, Maranda Elswick, Stephen Sims, and Becky Pyles.
Not pictured: Aditi Marudwar and Lauren Purcell.