Women's Giving Circle

Empowering Women to Make a Difference

Formed in 2012, the Women’s Giving Circle of Jefferson County (WGCJC) is a community of philanthropic women of all ages and backgrounds. By combining their financial strength, these women are able to collectively make a positive change for women and children throughout Jefferson County.

All women in Jefferson County are welcome and invited to join. Membership consists of an annual, tax-deductible contribution of $100. 75% of each membership is used to make the annual grants, while 25% is invested in the Women’s Giving Circle Endowment in Memory of Bonnie Hare. Junior memberships are available for young ladies ages 18 and under for $50, and are split $25/$25.

Assets of the WGCJC are held and maintained at the Community Foundation.


WGCJC Sub-Circles

Members of the WGCJC are invited to participate in one or more of the group’s Sub-Circles. These committees help the WGCJC achieve their annual goals. These committees are: 

  • Governance – help with updating Policies & Procedures
  • Grants – evaluate applications during the annual grant cycle
  • Marketing/PR – utilize email, social media, and local media outlets to get the word out about the group
  • Membership – help with the recruitment and retention of Giving Circle members
  • Special Events – help plan and organize annual events including the spring Annual Meeting

How We Give

The WGCJC makes grants annually to organizations that have the greatest potential to help the women and children of Jefferson County, Indiana. The Grants Sub-Circle reviews applications and provides grant recommendations to the general membership, which then votes on the recommendations at the annual meeting/dinner in the Spring. Grants are focused on the following four fields of interest, with the specific purpose of benefitting women and/or children:

  • Education
  • Economic Empowerment
  • Physical and Mental Health
  • Violence and Crime Prevention

Click the link at the top of the page to learn more about the WGCJC Grant Program.

2022 WGCJC Grant Winners

Who We Are

The membership of the WGCJC consists of women of all ages and backgrounds who come together, pool their contributions, and make funding decisions together. 

Our membership is made up of your neighbors and friends. Take a look at our current membership roster below to see the names of these generous women. We would love to add your name, too!

2022 WGCJC Annual Dinner

Rebecca Adkins
Tracy Ahlbrand
Kendra Auxier
Michele Barlow
Ada Bear
Marta Belt
Kim Bennett
Karin Bernstein
Julie Berry
Katy Biallas
Lindsay Bloos
Nadja Boone
Jarrett Boyd
Launa Braun
Kim Breeding
Kate Brown
Martha Brown
Karen Buchanan
Mary Kay Butler
Phyllis Calvin
Becky Canida
Charlotte Canida
Donna Carl
Janet Castor
Elizabeth Chapa
Cathy Chilton
Paula Clark
Jennifer Clayton
Kyleen Center
Debbie Ciganovich
Liz Ciganovich
Cathy Cleveland
Bea Collins
Judy Collins
Darleen Connolly
Kathy Crafton
Valecia Crisafulli
Brenda Cummins
Cara Cyrus
Jenny Darnold
Mary Davee
Linda DeLuca
Missy Demaree
Celestra Dewey
Karen Dickie
Sandy Dierdorf
Molly Dodge
Laurie Dorsey
Carol Dozier
Sylvia Duke
Jane Durst
Nancy Eagleson
Jackie Eggenspiller
Brenda Eversole
Brenda Finnegan
Anna Fisher
George Anne Fisher
Sandy Freeman
Beverly Gaffney
Tracy Geiglein
Sandy Gold
Cindy Goley
Robin Goodknight
Ann Selby Goodman
Teresa Waddle Gotthardt
Lisa Gray
Natalie Green
Meredith Gregg
Maria Grote
Carolyn Gunter
Jessica Hall
Lynn Hall
Margaret Hamilton
Susanne Hamner
Lisa Hanson
Letha Harding
Paula Hartman
Mary Heaton
Wilma Henderson
Jennifer Hensler
Jean Herron
Angie Hertz
Carol Hertz
Dee Hertz
Katie Hertz
Kelli Hertz
Karen Hicks
Laura Hodges
Karen Howard
Martie Hoying
Connie Huntington
Leah James
Betsy Johnson
Pam Jones
Tina Jones
Terry Kapfhammer
Colleen Keith
Karol Kirk
Shirley Kloepfer
Judy Koehler
Penny Koehler
Lindsey Laughlin
Mary Jane Laughlin (Jr.)
Bonnie Lee
Maggie Lisle
Sue Livers
Tomeka Livers
Mary Carol Lorton
Janet Huber Lowry
Linda Lytle
Ariel Makin
Lynn Maricle
Mary Kay McCubbin
Mary McCuskey
Cindy McKay
Sarah McQueary
Marilyn McQueen
Sally McWilliams
Candace Meyer
Gerry Michl
Mary Beth Mock
Karen Modisett
Elaine Morrill
Cari Morrison-Bear
Michelle Mouser
Sally Muessel
Thelma Mullett
Anna Nelson
Ruby Nichols
Margaret Nowling
Susan Ohlendorf
Margo Olson
Charmaine Owens
Sandra Palmer
Brenda Partridge
Alanagh Pimlott
Eliza Phillippe (JR)
Binnie Phillips
Frances Phillips
Veronica Phillips
Debbie Powell
Kimberly Reese
Judy Richardson
Connie Risk
Ann Roahrig
Susanne Robbins
Alice Rogers
Ann Roller
Katherine Rosenberg
Heidi Sage
Pam Sandoz
Carol Sargent
Jill Schafer
Susan Schmidt
Tonya Schmidt
Annie Schroeder
Ashley Schutte
Rachel Sharpe
Libby Sheppard
Austin Sims
Sandi Skiles
Happy Smith
Cynthia Lin Smoots
Nancy Sprunger
Sue Stack
Susan Stahl
Hilary Steinhardt
Phyllis Steinhardt
Abby Suiter
Elizabeth Thomas
Karen Todd
Priscilla Torline
Nancy Totten
Patty Trimble
Nancy Underwood
Marianne Ungru
Karen VanderPloeg
Betty Varble
Jan Vethrus
Betsey Vonderheide
Glenna Hanks Wade
Nancy Watson
Julie Wattenbarger
Donna Wehner
Joyce Wells
Julie Wells
Linda Wenning
Sharyn Whitman
Jill Wiest
Carole Williams
Jane Williams
Sadie Williams
Katie Wood
Sally Wurtz

Jane Williams – Chair
Jean Herron – Vice-chair
Tracy Geglein- Secretary
Pam Sandoz – Treasurer
Michele Barlow
Kathy Crafton
Leah James
Lynn Maricle
Cindy McKay
Gloria Risk
Donna Wehner
Joyce Wells


To become a member of the WGCJC, one must contribute a $100 gift annually. Junior memberships of $50 are available for girls age 18 and under. Gifts are fully tax-deductible and memberships run by calendar year (January 1 – December 31). You can join now via Credit Card or ACH by clicking the JOIN NOW button to the right, or can mail a check along with our downloadable Membership Form to P.O. Box 306, Madison, IN 47250. Feel free to call Julie Wells at (812) 265-3327 or email [email protected] with any questions!

Column 1Centered ColumnColumn 3
Value 1Value 2Value 3
Value 1Value 2Value 3
Value 1Value 2Value 3
Value 1Value 2Value 3