CFMJC Awards Nearly $300,000 in Grants

3G graphic

Area Nonprofits Receive Funding for Projects Spanning Jefferson County

MADISON, IN –The Community Foundation of Madison and Jefferson County (CFMJC) awarded $298,000 in grants during their 2022 Competitive Grant Cycle. Grants were awarded to 21 nonprofit organizations that serve Jefferson County residents, and a wide variety of people will benefit through unique projects and initiatives.

The annual competitive grant awards are made possible by the Community Foundation’s Flexible Community Funds and Field of Interest Endowment Funds. For funding consideration, agencies submitted an online application which were reviewed by the Foundation’s Grants Committee. “Our committee was asked for more than twice the amount that we had available to grant,” said CFMJC President & CEO Bill Barnes. “It is an honor to have a committee that is dedicated to the process. It’s a challenging task to determine the best investment of grant dollars available from the generosity of the Community Foundation’s donors.”

The Community Foundation endowments used to make the 2022 awards possible include:

– 7 Hugs: The David E., Sally Kirk, JD, and Stephanie Webster Family Endowment
– Gerald E. Amos Memorial Endowment Fund
– Bill & Stacy Barnes Charitable Endowment
– Eleanor T. Birk Foundation Community Fund
– Eleanor T. Birk Foundation Youth Fund
– Community Foundation Board Member & Alumni Fund
– Barbara Ann Cowan Memorial Fund
– Cronen/Marsiglio Family Unrestricted Endowment
– Harold A. “Hal” Davis Memorial Endowment for the Arts
– First Financial Bank Community Fund
– Gardner Insurance Agency Community Fund
– German American Bank Endowment
– Douglas & Ann Grahn Endowment
– Walter A. & Jean Graham Greiner Memorial Fund
– Hanover Fund for Youth
– Jefferson County Enrichment Endowment
– Jenner Family Endowment
– Freida Suppes Jones/John Price Jones Memorial Fund
– Lineburg Family Endowment
– Madison Beautification Fund
– Madison Precision Products Community Fund
– Gil & Trudy McCoy Unrestricted Endowment
– John Morgan Family Fund
– Rinda Rains Memorial Endowment
– Julius “Bud” & Irene Ritter Memorial Endowment
– Neida Rogers Memorial Endowment for Music
– Margaret Francis Seifert & Gregory A. Russell Endowment
– Devon & Rachel Sharpe Endowment
– Sherman, Barber, & Mullikin Fund for Jefferson County
-Norbert A. “Tony” Steinhardt, Jr. & Phyllis Steinhardt Family Endowment
– Nancy J. Strandmark Memorial Fund
– Ann Suchocki & Jim Mason Family Fund
– Tribute & Memorial Fund
– Vehicle Service Group Employee Endowment
– Vonderheide Family Community Appreciation Fund
– George Wagoner, MD & Marjorie Jefferies Wagoner, MD Fund
– Robert E. Wall DDS Fund
– Don R. Wallis Memorial Fund

Organizations receiving grant funding include:  Children’s Advocacy Center of Southeastern Indiana; City of Madison; Developmental Services, Inc.; Englishton Park Presbyterian Ministies; Grace Works/Hope Community; Habitat for Humanity of Jefferson County; Hanover Community Garden; Historic Madison, Inc.; Hoosier Trails Council, BSA; Indian Kentuck Baptist Church; Ivy Tech Community College – Madison; Jefferson County 4-H & Agricultural Association; Jefferson County United Way; Life Choices Clinic; Madison Area Arts Alliance; Madison Performing Arts Foundation; Recovery Cafe; Salvation Army-Madison Citadel; Southwestern Elementary School; Springdale Cemetery Association; and Tiny Kids Can.

A list this year’s programs and projects, as well as other past grants made by the Foundation, is available online at

Established in 1991, the Community Foundation of Madison and Jefferson County fulfills the mission of building a strong, vibrant community by helping donors provide perpetual funding for the people, projects, and passions of Jefferson County. Since the Foundation’s creation, nearly 250 permanent funds have been established. For information about the Community Foundation, contact Bill Barnes at (812) 265-3327, email [email protected], or visit