CFMJC Awards Over $127,500 in Grants

3G graphic

Area Nonprofits Receive Funding for Projects Spanning Jefferson County

MADISON, IN –The Community Foundation of Madison and Jefferson County (CFMJC) awarded over $127,500 in grants during their 2020 Competitive Grant Cycle. Grants were awarded to 14 nonprofit organizations that serve Jefferson County residents, and a wide variety of people will benefit through unique projects and initiatives.

“This year unfolded in a way no one expected,” said CFMJC President & CEO Bill Barnes. “Thanks to donors who have supported us at various times in our 29-year history, we were able to commit $100,000 from our Flexible Community Funds toward helping nonprofits with their COVID-19 relief efforts earlier in the year. In light of this, we’re pleased to still be able to award over $127,500 to nonprofits through our competitive grant cycle.” Habitat for Humanity and the Jefferson County 4-H Agricultural Association join 18 other organizations that received grants from the Foundation’s Disaster Relief Fund for COVID-19 relief efforts earlier in the year.

The annual competitive grant awards are made possible by the Community Foundation’s Flexible Community Funds and Field of Interest Endowment Funds. To be considered for funding, agencies submitted an online application which were reviewed by the Foundation’s Grants Committee.

The nonprofit agencies and philanthropic projects that received grant funding through the competitive grant cycle include: Children’s Advocacy Center of Southeastern Indiana; Developmental Services, Inc.; Friends of Canaan, Inc./Canaan Community Academy; Heritage Trail Conservancy; Hoosier Trails Council/Boy Scouts of America; Jefferson County House of Hope, Inc.; KDH Foundation; Madison Music Movement; Madison Riverfront Development Corp.; Oak Heritage Conservancy; River Valley Resources, Inc.; Salvation Army-Madison Citadel; Southwestern Elementary School; and the Town of Hanover.
A list of past grants made by the Foundation is available online at

The funds used to make the 2020 awards possible include:

• Gerald E. Amos Memorial Endowment Fund
• Eleanor T. Birk Foundation Youth Fund
• Community Endowment for the Arts
• Community Foundation Board Member & Alumni Fund
• Barbara Ann Cowan Memorial Fund
• Cronen/Marsiglio Family Unrestricted Endowment
• First Financial Bank Community Fund
• Gardner Insurance Agency Community Fund
• The Douglas & Ann Grahn Endowment
• Walter A. & Jean Graham Greiner Memorial Fund
• Hanover Fund for Youth
• Al & Connie Huntington Family Community Fund
• Jefferson County Enrichment Endowment
• Freida Suppes Jones/John Price Jones Memorial Fund
• The Lineburg Family Endowment
• Madison Precision Products Community Fund
• Gil & Trudy McCoy Unrestricted Endowment
• The John Morgan Family Fund
• Rinda Rains Memorial Endowment
• Julius “Bud” & Irene Ritter Memorial Endowment
• Margaret Francis Seifert & Gregory A. Russell Endowment
• Nancy J. Strandmark Memorial Fund
• Ann Suchocki & Jim Mason Family Fund
• Tribute & Memorial Fund
• Vehicle Service Group Employee Endowment
• George Wagoner, MD & Marjorie Jefferies Wagoner, MD Fund
• Don R. Wallis Memorial Fund

Established in 1991, the Community Foundation of Madison and Jefferson County fulfills the mission of building a strong, vibrant community by helping donors provide perpetual funding for the people, projects, and passions of Jefferson County. Since the Foundation’s creation, nearly 250 permanent funds have been established. For information about the Community Foundation, contact Bill Barnes at (812) 265-3327, email [email protected], or visit