Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship


The 2018 Lilly Endowment Community Scholar

Benjamin Hardin

2017 Lilly Endowment Community Scholar Catherine Fisher

The Community Foundation of Madison and Jefferson County Announces
2018 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Recipient


            One local student has been named the recipient of a four-year, full-tuition scholarship as the Community Foundation of Madison and Jefferson County’s 2018 Lilly Endowment Community Scholar.

            Madison Consolidated High School senior Benjamin Hardin has been selected as the 2018 Lilly Endowment Community Scholar. Benjamin will receive full tuition to the Indiana college or university of his choice and a $900 yearly stipend for required books and equipment.

            Benjamin is currently considering attending either Butler University, Indiana University-Bloomington, Purdue University, or the Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology.  He is planning to major in Computer Science/Software Engineering.  Benjamin is the son of Douglas and Patricia Hardin.  He actively participates in National Honor Society, MCHS Theatre, Tennis, Team LEAD, and Boy Scouts. Benjamin has participated in Hoosier Boys State and Phi Theta Kappa.     

            “I feel greatly honored to be selected as the 2018 Lilly Endowment Community Scholar,” Benjamin said.  “Being chosen from such an exceptional group of finalists is humbling.  I appreciate the opportunity given by the Community Foundation and the support they show in helping others. As I enter the next phase of life, I hope to use this blessing to its fullest potential and represent our beloved community well.”

            Thirty-five Jefferson County students applied for the scholarship this year, and six finalists were identified.  Including Hardin, the six finalists were Madison Consolidated High School seniors Andrew Holcroft, Ainsly Liter, Brandon Stewart, Joseph Winters, and Lillian Young.  Holcroft, Liter, Stewart, Winters, and Young will each receive a $1,000 Community Foundation Scholar Award from the Community Foundation of Madison and Jefferson County for their efforts and achievements. 

Independent Colleges of Indiana, Inc. (ICI) administers the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship statewide and selects the final recipients.  ICI is a nonprofit corporation that represents 30 regionally accredited degree granting, nonprofit, private colleges and universities in the state.

            The scholarships are the result of a statewide Lilly Endowment initiative to help Hoosier students reach higher levels of education.  There are 143 scholarships awarded statewide.

Please visit our main Scholarship page for information on the scholarships offered through the Community Foundation.  For additional information, please call Kelley Hoagland at 812-274-0243 or email